Right side meet your left side

Last night I decided to start practicing on my driving. I know what you’re thinking “geez, kids learn to drive as soon as they’re 16”. Well no. I didn’t learn how to drive when I was 16. You know why? Because I didn’t have a car. Unless I had a car I didn’t see it necessary for me to learn to drive. I’d be the skilled driver without anything to drive. I thought I might walk down the streets looking at other cars,thinking about just hopping into them and drive it around the block.

So now the time has come. I still don’t have a car but I thought it was just about time to start learning. I went to the parking lot at the mall at night, low traffic. I did pretty good , I even drove home. But then my sister in law pointed something out to me. I use both feet to drive. My right foot to accelerate and the left to stop. I didn’t know you weren’t suppose to! I tried using just one foot and when I hit the break and wanted to go forward I kept hitting the break. I was using my go foot.

It’s really hard for me. I use my both hands to type.I never use my left hand to type the letter ‘p’. I used two hands for piano. Heck , I use two hands to handle a calculator.

I blame the computer. I’ve been using one since I was 3 or 4. It divided my body and my attention. I should have guessed something was wrong when I was cleaning the sink with my hands and had a brush tied to my feet to clean the floor at the same time.

Does this make me a geek? Who cares. I wonder if I go to the dmv will I flunk my test because of that. Why does it matter? Now that I know I’m so divided I’m starting to pick up on other things like how I’m typing this and seeing the end of a telenovela my mom watches. Now you know where my typos come from.

6 Comments

  1. w1kkp said,

    August 12, 2008 at 11:57 pm

    Really? Tied a brush to you feet?? Oh, my mother would have loved YOU. My best friend years ago went for her driving test and ended her driving test by colliding with a parked police car. You can’t do any worse than that!! Good luck.

  2. Gigi said,

    August 13, 2008 at 2:59 am

    Thanks! I’m gonna keep practicing to try to kick that habit out of the way.

  3. Gev said,

    August 14, 2008 at 4:41 am

    I’m impressed, you can scrub floors and sinks at the same time?! I’m totally not that coordinated. At least you’re practicing, because one of my friends got into a Drivers Ed car, and got into an accident with a parked 2-door Truck. That happened to belong to the Mayer of out town. šŸ˜

    Good luck on the Driving!

  4. Gigi said,

    August 14, 2008 at 3:11 pm

    talk about bad luck gev.
    I hope I don’t meet that faith lol.

  5. fortyorso said,

    August 15, 2008 at 1:23 pm

    You are quite the prolific writer. I feel I was there for the test drive!

    ~thetvlife

  6. Gev said,

    August 16, 2008 at 4:35 am

    I don’t think you will Gigi.
    You sound competent, and very smart….unlike my friend at the time she wasn’t paying much attention. eh that’s her own mistake, i’m actually surprised that she didn’t get in trouble but its difficult to get in trouble with a LARGE yellow cone on the top of your car i guess huh? (drivers ed car)


Leave a comment