In memory of…


….my Giga Pet.
I don’t know exactly how he died or when he died. Hell, that thing had more lives than any cats I’ve ever heard of. Nonetheless I feel important to say good-bye to my digital pet from the 90’s.
I’m not particularly fond of animals. They smell, they’re loud,they bite. No wonder the elderly like them so much. But one day my father brought me one from KFC. At first I didn’t like it because it made this beeping sound and because he was pretty needed. I’d feed him and he’d crap on himself. I had to put him to bed ,call the docter, then he’d die and it would start all over again.


I eventually got sick of playing with him no matter how many KFC gave me ( I ended up having 3) and the school banning them had a little to do with it. For some reason I always liked my friends Giga pets better. So my dear purple Giga Pet fell into obscurity. I don’t know where he went . I doubt I threw him away because I have a problem throwing things away. So long my digital pet.


I wonder how many people had these things and actually remember them?

2 Comments

  1. theepiphany said,

    October 21, 2008 at 3:27 pm

    My younger siblings had giga pets. I was “too old” for them – but secretly jealous! I thought they were SO COOL!

  2. Gigi said,

    October 21, 2008 at 3:35 pm

    Me too. I even heard Buffy ( from buffy the vampire slayer which at the time was my favorite show) mention she sat on hers and I thought I was so cool for having one too. Now I think about it and acknowledge it was some sort of placement ad lol


Leave a Reply

