Groundhog Dream


As I laid last night to sleep I could hear my dad scratching his feet from a distant. You see he has rough feet and he left his socks on while doing this so it made a very annoying sound. So I decided as a vengeance to scratch the bed spread to see if he liked the sound of it. Apparently he could care less because he didn’t stop with his noise. So that’s the sound I went to sleep to, two people making scratching noises.


Evidently, this must have had some effect on my dream because it was just odd. Plain and simple. I dreamt that I was having a dream. A dream within a dream. Like the poem from Edgar Allan Poe. As a matter of fact , this should be something from Edgar Allan Poe. I dreamt that I was dreaming ( hang onto me here ) that I was being harassed by 5 evil spirits. I’m saying 5 because when I woke up from my sub dream that’s what I told my Dad because exaggeration is the best way to alarm people. My guess is that they were actually three of them. My dad ignored me ( nothing surprising there) so I tried to get back to my sub-sleep mood. But I couldn’t so I decided to understand what was going on. Have you ever notice that when given the chance to let your dream persona think/talk they will come up with the most nonsensical gibberish? But in the dream you think you’re a freaking philosopher. My dream persona came to the conclusion that the spirits could not cause me any harm because if it’s the devil’s work he would have killed Jesus in his sleep too.


At this point I just decided to wake up. It was getting ridiculous to just listen to myself ramble without anyone there to stop me.


I sometimes think about keeping a dream journal. But the first thing on my mind when I wake up is what’s for breakfast.

2 Comments

  1. FiFO said,

    October 18, 2008 at 4:24 pm

    A dream log would be nice. You should read something nice, or listen to some calm music before going to sleep, maybe that would give you pleasant dreams.

  2. Gigi said,

    October 18, 2008 at 7:26 pm

    I have pleasent dreams most of the time except when I don’t go to sleep full. If i’m a least slightly hungry my body takes revenge on me by giving me stupid dreams lol


Leave a Reply

