Wicked


No , not the Broadway show although I wish I could attend and speak of. But more as in the feeling of being “wicked”. See , I’ve been reading some books lately that have a horrible influence on me.They turn a notch up on my cynicism and I dare to say makes me even more nonchalant about issues that would normally concern the fellow man.


What books am I re-reading? The devil’s dictionary and The picture of Dorian Gray. The latter is much more dangerous than the first. I love these books. Both authors share the same type of outlook in life and dared to say things that shouldn’t have been said in the time. Even though Oscar Wilde’s only novel did portray a lot Hedonism and selfishness , I can’t help but to agree with a lot of the things Lord Henry says. Look what he says about his married life:

“You seem to forget that I am married, and the one charm of marriage is that it makes a life of deception absolutely necessary for both parties. I never know where my wife is, and my wife never knows what I am doing. When we meet–we do meet occasionally,when we dine out together, or go down to the Duke’s — we tell each other the most absurd stores with the most serious faces.”

I eat that crap up. Lots of us have been in deceitful relationships and don’t bother at all to mention it because you’re up to the same.


As for the Devil’s dictionary here’s the definition of distance:

Distance,n. The only thing that the rich are willing for the poor to call theirs, and keep.



Lol. You know it’s true.I suggest that anyone who can try to read these books. They are going to be worth your while. You can find them online or at the library. But if you’re like me and don’t like reading online , try the library.Trust me, they’re worth it.

Leave a Reply

